Celebrating our graduates: Prize Giving 2022

— 01.08.22

by Caroline Mailer

Congratulations to the class of 2022, and most especially to our wonderful prize winners and contributors!

On 18 July, we got together with our highest achievers in the class of 2022 for our first in-person Prize Giving and Thank You Ceremony since before the Covid-19 pandemic. It was a privilege to welcome our newest graduates to the Sheffield University Management School alumni community.

After welcoming our guests with fizz and canapes on arrival, we congratulated our latest members of the Dean’s List, who were presented with an engraved trophy by the Dean, Professor Rachael Finn.

Our Associate Dean for Education, Professor Fraser McLeay presented prizes and certificates to our winners of the Chartered Institute of Marketing (Sheffield branch) Prize, the Idris Hicks Memorial Prize, and the Fretwell-Downing Prize, before congratulating the top performers on each of our undergraduate programmes.

We made special recognition of the contributions that our PhD graduates have made to academic research across management subjects, and we thanked those who have contributed to the School as Student Ambassadors, Academic Representatives, and Mentors.

You are welcome to watch a recording of the Prize Giving and Thank You Ceremony, Summer 2022, in the video below. Enjoy watching!

We would like to thank our prize sponsors, Fretwell-Downing and the Chartered Institute of Marketing (CIM), for supporting and recognising some of our highest achieving students.

We would also like to say a special thank you to our speakers, including the Dean of the Management School Professor Rachael Finn, SUMS Advisory Board Chair Ann Pickering, Associate Dean of Education Professor Fraser McLeay, Director of Undergraduate Education Dr Robert Marchand, and The Dean's List (2021) winning alumna Jenni Blundell.

Thank you all for helping to make this such a special occasion for our graduates, and we hope you enjoyed celebrating our newest SUMS alumni!


Celebrating the Dean's List, undergraduate class of 2022


Congratulations prize winners! Postgraduate class of 2021


High praise for undergraduate paper on work-related wellbeing